November 2, 2010

  • Spending Halloween As My Hero

    My Hero!  - Toy Story 3 - Ken Me as Toy Story Ken! - Halloween 2010

    My office goes sort of crazy for Halloween.  This year my department had a Toy Story theme.  I wasn’t feelin’ it but then I went to Goodwill and found my shirt for $3, cut up an ascot out of half a yard of fabric from the fabric store ($1.50), had the shorts (Hollister), shoes (black Jaime Mascaro loafers, yes they make men’s shoes too), and used my Stubbs & Wootton yellow ribbon belt.  I wish I had a better wig, but this one was only $5 at Party City. 

    Shrek - Halloween 2010

    Toy Story Halloween 2010

    Halloween 2010

    Toy Story Halloween 2010

    Lotsa Bear - Toy Story Halloween 2010 The Prospector - Toy Story Halloween 2010

    The Claw!!!  Both the Alien and Bullseye made their costumes from scratch.  The Alien mask is felt with styrofoam ball eyes.  Bullseye stitched together a cloth saddle and tail, and did a complex paper mache horsey mask.  Seriously… middle aged white ladies are crazy with their costume making. 

    The Claw! - Toy Story Halloween 2010 Bullseye - Toy Story Halloween 2010

    Halloween 2010  

    I’m just Ken, and I’m here to rock you in my dream house. 

    Me as Toy Story Ken! - Halloween 2010

    “I’ll be seeing you tonight… in my dreams.”   ~ Ken in Toy Story 3

    The next night, I went to eat at the Gorbals, a restaurant at the Alexandria Hotel in Downtown LA, opened by season two Top Chef winner Ilan Hall.   Good thing the staff was dress up too. 

    The Gorbals - 1 Year Anniversary Menu - October 30, 2010

    Where else would you eat progressive Jewish Irish food like bacon wrapped matzoh balls?  

    Bacon Wrapped Matzo Balls - The Gorbals

    And… Foie Gras, Baby Yams, Marshmallow Fluff & Cranberries?

    Foie Gras, Baby Yams, Marshmallow Fluff & Cranberries - The Gorbals

    The crispy broccoli in soy and chili sauce, the poutine (brown sugar braised pork over crispy fries), and the foie gras were very good.  The matzoh balls you sort of have to try.  They were good, but not close to being to die for. 

    I can’t believe I rocked this outfit again in Downtown LA and Little Tokyo.  Nobody knew what the heck I was dressed as, unless I told them.  All I could think was, “Some men dress like this everyday… gross!”

    I can't believe I wore this around Downtown LA... Halloween 2010

Comments (2)

  • that’s a pretty awesome shirt to find at goodwill.

  • @fangstar - Thanks!  It wasn’t an exact match, but close enough… I got lucky, found it at my second thrift store stop.  It’s cheesy enough that I’ll need to find another occasion to wear it to.  Did you dress up?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply