August 15, 2011

  • I’m going to New York in early September, what places should I hit up?   Send me your travel tips… especially food, lounge, and dessert places.  I’ve done all the touristy stuff already.  So far and highly possible on the agenda… discounted Broadway show, go to the US Open of Tennis, catch a Yankees game from some super cheap seats.  Will be staying in rooftop duplex in the Union Square area.  

    Which of the cheaper Momofukus are worth going to or is it all a scam?  

    Le Benardin for lunch… worth it?  Is it really the best fish in the US?  Lunch specials at Jean George or Per Se?

    Steakhouse… Del Frisco?  Peter Luger’s?  

    Send me all your tips!  We will eat all levels, from Gray’s Papaya, Joe’s Pizza, to Magnolia, to Le Benardin.  Will probably only do a couple of the nicer restaurants.  I don’t want to spend my whole time sitting in NY sitting at a four hour meal.  

    If you would like to meet up and eat or walk with us while I’m in NYC, let me know!  


    Someone I used to date hit me up with a “I need rent money” request.  First thing that flashed in my head, “Is my baby getting fed?  Are we sure it’s my baby?”  Just kidding.  But I did think, “I don’t have not babies of yours, so why are you asking me?”  How do you decide if you’ll help or not?  I have helped a friend with rent before, but they were in a tough place and had too much pride to ask for help, so I offered.  This time I said no.  This person needed rent because they aren’t a saver and didn’t plan well.  I’m not rich yet, I don’t even have enough money to buy a house yet.  


    Howiemeter On the Economy

    I don’t think the economy is moving anywhere fast.  My ticket sales at the beginning of the year was steady (at same pace as last year).  Then from end of May on sales stagnated.  My items ended up selling, but traffic was slow and most only sold a week before the show after prices were reduced, reduced, and reduced.  We are talking good shows, great seats for things that have been sold out for six months or more… Adele, Katy Perry, Taylor Swift…  

    Something happened at the end of May.  I don’t know if it was just summer hitting and people getting more relaxed or it more people tightened up because they feared their job security.  It was weird because it was across the board effect on all shows in different cities.  Earlier in the year, Katy Perry and Adele tickets were flying off my hands.  I sensed the winds of change way before all the debt ceiling talk hit.  One economist compared us Japan of the 1990s.  Slow growth, large debt, going nowhere fast.  What do you think?  Is the US economy stuck in this no growth/low growth scenario for the next two or three years (exactly what I wondered two years ago)?  


    Concerts I’ve been at the past few months:  My Chemical Romance, Glasvegas, Leighton Meester, Katy Perry, Toby Keith, and possibly Adele this week.  If you want pictures or a review of any, let me know.  

     

     

Comments (2)

  • Who straight out asks someone for rent money? So shameless.

  • @miss_prettyinpink -  No kidding. This person had a job for the last five years and asked after being only three weeks unemployed. Did you not save any money? Well, knowing this person, they probably didn’t. I’m willing to help a friend if it’s truly hard times, not because of bad planning. If I lend money like that, it would be because my heart feels it wants to and I’d have to be comfortable knowing that I probably wouldn’t see it again.

    The problem with lending a fair amount of money is that you can’t help but scrutinize everything that person buys. Like if you see them buy boba or a Starbucks, all you’re thinking is… Shouldn’t you be drinking water and giving me that $3? Hahaha.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply