January 7, 2011

  • December was a blurrrrr to me.  Worked the normal shift that pays with benefits, then worked my ticket broker side project like mad, listing everything I could in hopes that people would buy tickets for gifts.  Lakers?  Taylor Swift in August 2011?  Dierks Bentley?  White Lies?  My Chemical Romance?  Lady Gaga in New York in February?  All sures.  So I did a good month, of course it could’ve been better, but thank the gods of Cobol that it wasn’t bad.  Bad is like this summer, when I lost $3k on Lady Gaga tickets (blame the recession).  And then after all the major online pimping was done, I was sitting having dinner at Mama D’s with the Pixar artist and the former Laker girl and noticed the date… it was December 23rd.  I missed the whole month of Christmas. 

    I didn’t write cards to anyone, which I hate myself for, as I’ve written cards for the last twenty years.  Oh well… only two people complained that they weren’t getting a homemade card.  I’m not that missed.  The world goes on. 

    My New Year’s was quite royal.  Friday started with a $20.10 prix fixe lunch at Charlie Palmer.  Pear salad with walnuts and gorgonzola, medium rare strip steak with short rib sauce (because they ran out of the short rib) and mashed potatoes, then pumpkin bread pudding with ice cream, add a Morgan Twelve Clones Pinot Noir for $6.  There was the 80s house party, with board games and 80s music rockin’ in the New Year until 3 in the morning.  New Year’s day I had an awesomely seasoned and seared steak and had Jack and Coke while watching others play flip cup at a house they rented in Huntington Beach. 

    The day after that was rainy Sunday.  I hate the rain, but it was a near perfect day.  It started off with a botched attempt to get $25 student rush matinee tickets to see West Side Story at the Pantages, a pee stop at the W Hotel across the street (stealing their free coffee), then we strolled through the Hollywood Farmer’s Market, thumbed for CDs at Ameoba Records on Sunset, checked out vintage clothes on Melrose, crashed Mozza with only a 15 minute wait for lunch at 1 p.m., took pictures at the Statue of David house, showed my friend downtown LA and Skid Row (which she really wanted to see because they don’t have places like that in Japan).  Then we picked up her rental car, went to the Japanese market, and then I gave her a 20 minute lesson on how to drive on the right side of the road.  Hot damn the girl did good!   How would you fare if it was dark, pouring rain and I made you drive on a California freeway for the first time in your life?  If you’ve never sat in the driver’s seat on the left side of a car or driven on the right side of the road?  

    What I learned last weekend?  Macallan 12 year is smooth, my Generra Hypercolor shirt still works after 20 years, Hollywood Farmer’s Market is a good place to people watch, and 21 year-old Japanese girls are fearless. 

Comments (4)

  • you have such an interesting life! i love your posts. i first stumbled on your page after your lakers-finals post (maybe it was featured?) when they lost to the celtics, i believe…been stopping by occasionally/pretty consistently ever since.

    thanks for sharing!

    -appreciative xangan

  • @tenntenn - Thanks for the compliments.  You are welcome to comment anytime.  =)  I’ve been pretty busy recently with my two jobs so I haven’t had as much time to post the past year.  What type of posts do you like reading about the most? 

  • your restaurant/food posts are always nice, as are your lakers games/crazy fans/celeb photo posts. i also really liked the entry about lady gaga’s concert. those costumes were pretty rad. then there are your entries that talk about how you got a sweet deal on this or that, your online dating adventures, etc. all very fun and engaging reads!

  • @tenntenn - thanks… i can never tell if people enjoy the randomness/diversity or if they prefer to read about their same favorite subjects.  i like mixing it up on posts, because i want to share and experience all aspects of life.  =)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply