Month: May 2011

  • The Wellness Program 

    My workplace is starting a wellness program and it sounds fishier than yesterday’s chowder.  The company has never spent extra money to improve the health tried to lessen our health insurance load.  Now they want to “care” about us and want us to kick off the wellness program by going to get a blood/health analysis at Quest Diagnostics.  The testing if free and we get to take a half day off for a one hour test.  This is from a company which won’t even give our employees a paid two hours off so that we can attend a funeral of a fellow co-worker. 

    The testing is voluntary.  It has been said that after they get the results back (they won’t see individual results, just a summary of the whole branch), then they’ll take that and manufacture a program from that.  Since I try to keep up with things, some employees have been asking me, “What do you think of it?  Are you going to take it?” 

    What I’ve noticed is that the fairly healthy people have scheduled their testing.  I have not seen any fatties put in for their free four hours of vacation testing time.  If I really wanted this test done in the past, I could go get a physical, then at the end of it as my doctor if he could also authorize a sexual diseases test to see if I have the herps as well as authorize a fat/blood/sugar content test all for the same price.  It’s not like the test would cost me more to do myself.  If I’m already getting an exam, then it would be covered under my insurance. 

    Why am I skeptical?  Has anyone ever told you they’d make you money, just write them a check and they’ll invest it for you?  Would you give it to them?  No.  You’d ask what they’d be investing in.  Stocks?  Real Estate?  Used copper wires?  A new yogurt store?  No one would go in blind.   The company is telling us to get tested, individually we can see our results while the company sees the summary, then they’ll… they’ll… they’ll… what? 

    I asked, “Has the company thought about putting in exercise bikes or ellipticals?”  I got a run around answer.  Invest $4,000 for 4 machines for 130 employees is a small price to pay to improve health.  Those are low impact machines, it’s not like they’d be a huge liability.  Heck, they’ve never even offered to reimburse us a $10 bucks a month if we sign up for a gym membership at 24 Hour Fitness. 

    I’m skeptical because with rising healthcare costs, who’s to say that the laws won’t change in a few years, that high risk fatties will have to pay a higher insurance premium than their fellow co-workers because they are more “at risk.”  I was trying to find instances on the net where this has already happened.  Guess what?  It’s already happening.  Some workplaces are offering an insurance ”discount” if an employee takes part in the wellness program.  Instead of marketing fatties as paying more, they are marketing it as skinnies paying less. 

    My co-workers don’t think about these things.  The company is not going to do anything that strictly benefits us.  I think they’d only implement this if it would reduce their group insurance rate (by having a wellness program in place) or so that they can set up a foundation for filtering out the more at-risk fatties a few years down the line.  As one of my sales producers once said, “I can expense all the alcohol I want and drink myself to death while on the road, but I can’t expense a $10 gym fee at a hotel.” 

    Does your workplace have a wellness program?  What’s your impression of it?  Do people in your company get charged different rates for medical insurance for being healthier/fatter?   

  • What’s up in the life of Howie…

    Scored $25 tickets to last Saturday’s Prince concert.  Loge (lower level), Row F.  Row F ended up being row 3 in our section.  Holy purpleness!!! They were frickin’ awesome seats!  And I have a friend that works the booths so I got my concert t-shirt for half off.  =)  He will be performing this weekend, the last weekend in May, and then the last five or so dates will run into June.  Definitely worth seeing for $25.  My only warning… parking at the Forum… $25!!!

    After Prince, we tried to make it back to Star BBQ in Garden Grove for all you can eat Korean BBQ for their last seating @ 12:40 a.m. (we called the manager to check).  I’m in Inglewood and clock reads 12:15 a.m.  I tell my friend there’s no way we can make it, we’ll have to settle for BCD.  12:35 a.m., I pull into Star BBQ.  We walk in and yell “Inglewood!!!” Dr. Dre style and the stunned manager looks at us speechless.  He couldn’t believe that we made it since we had just called 18 minutes ago.  

    My Lakers sucked.  I’m not ashamed of losing.  I’m ashamed that they went out like suckers.  I’ve never been afraid to bump guys hard in basketball, but I never hit someone sideways when they are in the air, that’s a punk move because someone could twist an ankle or knee landing.  Swat the ball down onto someone’s head, slap someone’s arm so it stings when they come in the lane, elbow them when you’re jostling for post position, but in the air?  C’mon man.  

    Holy Ganja!  I just got the call today… Tomorrow is the 30th anniversary of Bob Marley’s passing and I got invited to the private party (200 people) and performance by Ziggy Marley @ the Grammy Museum!!!  And I get to partake in the free food and wine!!!   My life really makes me wonder sometimes.  Seriously, I’m randomly blessed.  

    Now to go spiritual on another level, my little brother is graduating this week from seminary and is officially going to be a pastor!!!  I’m the one my parents pray for.  

    I have a couple of interesting date stories from the past month that I can tell you next time if you want to hear about them.  How are you doing?  Just because I haven’t written, doesn’t mean I don’t wonder about how you’ve been.