Month: March 2011

  • Nothing momentous has been going on, but it’s been a great month.

    My new tire got a nail in it from the construction at work two months ago.  Free flat repair still left it with a slow leak, so they gave me a free Michelin last… I didn’t have tire insurance and they didn’t measure usage. 

    I got X-Ray’d for my shoulder soreness and there was no structural damage, just fallout.  I was prescribed PT.  Day one of physical therapy and it looks like I have an impinged AC joint that is causing my neck, shoulder, and arm muscles to tighten up.  Hopefully shouldn’t be too hard to fix.  I was worried that it was some rotator cuff thing. 

    A new Microsoft store is opening tomorrow in South Coast Plaza and they are making a huge deal about it.  Ummm… shouldn’t you have opened your own stores 10 years ago when you guys were the world leader?  Anyhow, I’m going early so that I can hopefully get a coupon that will let me buy a copy of Office for cheaper.  I swear, it’s not for the free tickets to the exclusive Selena Gomez concert.  But Biebers, I will steal your girl.  Oh and at night they are going to get Lamar Odom and Khloe Kardashian to play XBox Kinect with people at the store for two hours.  How about that!  Don’t you wish you lived in SoCal?

    I was so busy I didn’t even get to attend the free NCAA Sweet Sixteen practice session at the Honda Center today.  No one ever goes but it’s super cool and chill.  There’s only like 400 people in the whole arena and I probably could’ve gotten future #1 draft pick Kyrie Irving’s autograph or Coach K’s auto.  Duke is a class act.  Last time they were here, he had the whole team go over and sign autographs for the few people in the stands that wanted them.  They run their practices like they mean business. 

    Maybe I can update more often once I’m set up.  I just bought my first router (an Apple Airport Extreme, coming in tomorrow’s mail, took 2 weeks for Amazon to ship it) and…

    GOT MY FIRST LAPTOP!!!  I know, welcome to 1995 Howie.  Yeah, but, dig this… I got a 15″ Macbook Pro with Intel iCore i7 and Anti-Glare screen for… FREE.  Holla!!!  Yeah, I’ve been saving my Amex points for 15 years.  There was a 30% points discount on the Shop Amex site and I found the exact model with anti-glare screen customization (this was impossible to find).  Add in that this was an independent distributor, not the official Apple store, since they were out of state, there were no taxes or shipping fees.  If I got it through Apple, I would’ve had to pay another $250 in taxes.  I had so many points, it was just ridiculous.  And I still have enough to buy myself an Apple Care! 

    Who wants to teach me how to use a Mac?  =)